Yellow Jack Errata

The following errata is extensive enough to justify a revision of the rules, charts, map, and counters.
Future printings will incorporate this errata. For players already owning the game the altered counter
sheets and a map overlay are available upon request.

List of Updated Components

1) Maps. All map errata listed here has been added. Additionally, the Nor easter Seasonal Wind (Atlantic Seaboard region)
was revised. For this section of the map an overlay has been devised.

2) Counters. All counter errata listed here has been added to the sheets. The changes were incorporated on sheets #3 and
#4.

3) Books. The Exclusive Rules, both Scenario books, and the Charts & Tables book have all been updated to include the
errata listed here. A few corrections and clarifications are given below for the Fighting Instructions (v.3.0) but that book
has not been updated. A new edition of the F7 (v.3.5 or 4.0?) will be issued as the system evolves.

4) Card Stock. The Event/MC Flow Chart has had a minor clarification added, the SOP has been corrected, and the Fleet
Displays have been reworked. All are now contained in a single PDF of Tabloid (11x17) size.

All these components are available in PDF form upon request, at no charge. The map overlay is not
included; instead, we will send a PDF of the entire revised map.

Hard copies are also obtainable, including die cut versions of counter sheets #3 and #4, but only during
one of our regular print runs. An exception is the map overlay, which is available at any time. We
suggest picking up the PDF of the Charts & Tables book too, since this contains the updated Weather
table.

When available, hard copies will be sold ‘at cost’— that is, you only pay for the cost of production — plus
shipping. You may contact RSG at any time to reserve copies.

General Clarifications

1) Unless otherwise stated, all scenarios begin at the very beginning of the Turn. Regarding the initial Blockade that
appears in the 1740 scenario, the set up is correct — the Interdiction Order will have 7 of the 8 impulses needed for
completion (3 at start + 4 during Op Phase, assuming no interference) by the end of the Turn. If you feel this is too much
of an advantage, strike out the accumulated 3 Impulses or adjust starting Prestige.

2) The shortage of Squadrons in the counter mix is correct. Remember some are dual purpose SPs and could become Fleet
Auxiliaries. All such items are all listed as SPs so that you have a choice of deployment locations.

3) In Battle, when Squadrons ‘double down’ — that is, when multiple squadrons combine on one Enemy Squadron — only
ONE (1) Combat is fought between said Squadrons, so that DPs are generated, regardless of the Class inflicting them, as
if a single Squadron was inflicting them. Similarly and conversely, the Side with the additional Squadrons shares out any
DPs received as evenly as possible, again without regard to Class. However, Class penalties do apply if there is even ONE
(1+) Sail of such a Class. Example: 2 SOL and 2 Frigates, each Class in 1 Squadron of its own, engage in a Combat
against 4 SOL in 1 Squadron. The mixed force inflicts all its damage on the 1 Enemy Squadron, but the -2 DPM penalty
for Frigate participation applies. The mixed force then suffers 3 DPs itself. Each Squadron suffers 1 DP and the final DP
can be awarded to either the SOL or the Frigate. Purists may wish to have one Class or the other suffer any odd loss by
default, but this is not an official rule.

4) If a Flotilla Sorties from a Port and the Battle is a Draw, the Flotilla can stay in the Battle Space. However, the
Blockading Flotilla may also remain in the Space, so any Blockade Order in progress is not Failed.

5) When expending Prestige on the Reinforcement Table to gain a better result, the expenditure adjusts the result directly,
without requiring another die roll.

6) Fleet-50 have ‘U’ (unlimited) Range as Auxiliaries but are not required to Rebase, since they can be attached to Flotillas.
This is intentional. As a rule, it is, however, still open to debate.

7) The Detaching of a Squadron requires a LC, after which the Squadron can be Issued a RVO or be Attached to another
Flotilla in the same Space. The Attaching of a Squadron requires no LC. A Detachment requires a SC when either
Detached or Attached. If Detached, an Order will also have to be Issued. The SC is made first and then the Order is
Issued.



8) With respect to point #10, the rules give different times for Attachment and Detachment than the SOP. Use the SOP. Note
that in the Operations Phase both Squadrons and Detachments can Attach, but only Squadrons can Detach. The following
are exceptions to the requirement for a LC or SC:

*  Involuntary Detaching.
* Internal reorganisation within the Flotilla.

9) A die roll of ZERO (0) is always a successful LC or SC. This permits Leaders without a printed SR, including Notional
Leaders (i.e. ‘empty command slots’) to pass SCs if acting as Command or Fleet Admirals.

10) By default Terminated Order Chits are replaced in the Orders Pool as soon as Termination occurs (F7 9.33 last bullet).
Exceptions are found in the Exclusive Rules — for example, in YJ SoF OCs are returned at the end of the Year.

11) FI 4.0 states that Squadrons go to/from In Ordinary after the Repair Step (and after Attrition). F7 11.31 and the SOP state
that Squadrons go to/from In Ordinary before the Repair Step (and before Attrition). F7 4.0 is wrong. FI 11.31 and the
SOP are correct.

12) A similar error occurs in F7 4.0 regarding Convoy Disbanding and Assembly. These activities occur per the SOP and FI
10.16 & 10.172 — in the R&R Step and not after Attrition.

13) Convoy Orders of any kind do count for Fulfillment/Failure. French Orders of any kind does count for Fulfillment/Failure
prior to France entering the war.

14) Any Orders can be Issued to any Reinforcing Flotilla, provided the Order matches the capability of the Flotilla.
15) Prestige is not compared in a special step of the Turn, but as soon as it is awarded.

16) Convoy Questions. Convoy Disbandment only occurs in the Administrative Phase. F7 10.162 (Troop Convoy Assembly)
should say ‘In Ordinary’, not ‘Fitting Out’. Case FI 10.172 (Victualling Convoys disbursing RPs) states the Convoy
‘enters Fitting Out’. This is a special, temporary state, does not Disband the Convoy; said Disbandment will occur when
the Convoy has no more RPs and ‘enters In Ordinary’. The delay when Disbanding Convoys (ONE (1) Turn for
Disbanding and ONE (1) Turn for Forming a new Convoy) applies to both Inbound and Outbound Convoys.

17)Loss of Subordination Question. This was a specific question sent in by a player. It may serve to answer similar
questions. A Spanish Flotilla was Blockading Port Royal but suffered Loss of Subordination due to a Gale. Ex. Rule 2.23
(Rules of Engagement) was in force, meaning the Spanish had to go to the nearest Port (Sabanilla) and enter Fitting Out.
However, Sabanilla was not a logical destination; Cartagena would have been a better choice as Repairs were needed. The
solution is to move the Spanish to Sabanilla. Once the requirements of Ex. Rule 2.23 are fulfilled there is no restriction on
the Squadrons being Issuing RVOs, allowing them to proceed to Cartagena in the next Turn. Remember, when Fitting Out
a Squadron is still Formed.

18) Can a Flotilla be Formed from scratch at sea (i.e. from a collection of Leaderless Independent Squadrons)? The short
answer is no. A very similar situation would be possible under F7 3.333 and F7 3.335 if a single-Squadron Flotilla was
present. This would permit recombination after a Weather- or Battle-related disaster.

19) The number of Orders Chits in the counter mix is a hard limit.

20) The Bourbon Convoy tables refer to DRMs for Assembling Convoys. These are not mentioned in the rules under
Convoys but under Personages (Ex. Rule 2.56); the Personages provide the DRMs.

21) The three Reinforcement Request Tables (found in the Charts & Tables booklet and the two OOB books) are not identical.
Those in the OOB books have been ‘tweaked’ to remove one or two items of no interest to that particular player.
However, the opposing Side’s columns are included, for reference.

Rules & Charts Errata

1) Case numbers in Ex. Rule 2.66 are incorrectly given as 2.65; the title of the rules section has the correct section number
(2.66). Similarly, Case numbers in Ex. Rule 3.21 are incorrectly given as 3.12.

2) Scenario & chart references to Port Louis refer to the Port on Hispaniola. The Port at Martinique is Fort Royal. Do not
confuse Port Louis and Fort Louis. The latter is either at Grenada or on the Louisiana coast; nearly all references apply to
Fort Louis Grenada, which was clearly noted in the original version.

3) Under Ex. Rule 3.21 the Military Campaign Activation dates given as Turn 1 or Turn 5 should be Turn 4 and Turn 8 of the
Year, respectively. MC end dates are correct as written.

4) Under Ex. Rule 3.34 it is incorrectly stated that Failed/Fulfilled Orders are compared at Year’s end. As noted in the
Orders/Scenarios books, Failed/Fulfilled Order comparisons are made on Quarterly Turns, per FI 12.2.

5) The fourth bullet of F7 9.38 (version 3.0), regarding involuntary Order Termination should read ‘Turn 16 of the previous
Year’, not Turn 1 of the current Year. This correction eliminates a host of sequencing issues. This bit of errata will not be
corrected at present. The Fighting Instructions await a reissue in ‘version 3.X’.
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6) FI6.236 states that the Blockade Value of a Port acts as a negative DRM to any Fireship attack. This is incorrect. The BV
penalises the attempt, meaning a plus (+) DRM is incurred.

7) FI7.232 references 6.234 with regard to point #6 above. The reference should be to F7 6.236.
8) Ignore references to generic Interdiction Orders and Chits, The rule was edited out.

9) Ex. Rule 3.44 directs the reader to FI 5.25. This should be FI 6.25. Also, the actual instructions for Marine Auxiliary
Tasks) were omitted:

Basic Tasking rules are followed. The Task can only be carried out in a Space occupied by the Flotilla to which the
Marine is Assigned. Enemy Harbours are eligible targets but when Cutting Out the Blockade Value acts as a
penalising DRM.

Raid Against Port Spaces — Success die roll of 0-3. DRM +2 if Enemy Land Units in the Space.

A successful Raid Task nullifies ONE (1) Repair die roll at that Port for the remainder of the Quarter (i.e. until after
any Quarterly Turn Repair de rolls are made). This can be noted on paper, or accumulated RPs (from Victualling)
can be reduced. It does affect Emergency Repair die rolls.

Cutting Out Against Port Spaces — Success die roll of 0-4 against a Squadron; 0-5 against a Troop Convoy. DRM
= the Blockade Value (+BV).

A successful Cutting Out Task targeting a Squadron causes ONE (1) Sail from that Squadron to be Captured and
Assigned to the nearest eligible Friendly Squadron. If no such Squadron exists, the Sail is Sunk instead. Only
Frigates & SOL (D) can be targeted. Against other Sail there is no effect.

A successful Cutting Out Task targeting a Troop Convoy causes ONE (1) Unit in that Convoy to lose ONE (1) SP.

If a Marine’s parent Flotilla is removed for any reason, the Marine is placed in the Auxiliary Recovery Box. When a Marine
becomes Available, regardless of how it entered the Recovery Box, place it in a Friendly Major Port. It can once again be
Assigned to a Flotilla according to Ex. Rule 2.531.

10) The Georgia MC has a confusing pair of DRMs (£4) which cancel each other out. What has not been stated on the track is
that the British DRM applies for the FIRST (1st) Turn of the FIRST (1st) Georgia MC and the Spanish DRM applies to
the FIRST (1st) Turn of the SECOND (2nd) Georgia MC.

11) On the SOP chart the statement about Gale movement in the 1st MPI only is incorrect, as is the statement about Gale
Attrition being only in the 4th MPI. Gales are resolved in every MPI, just like Hurricanes — see FI 5.32 for a detailed
sequence. Ex. Rule 1.551 also suggests Gales do not cause Attrition in each MPI. This is incorrect according to the
Fighting Instructions (FI 5.36); the rule is under consideration for revision, so players may wish to experiment by
following the uncorrected SOP chart.

12) On the Port Prestige Chart:

*  Port-de-Paix should be Cap Frangois.

»  Fort Royal (Martinique) is missing. Its entry should read ‘French Nation, BV 2, FV 3, 1G 4, RP 1, Prestige 1°.

*  Santiago de Cuba s 1G rating should be ‘2’ not ‘3°.

*  Puerto Cabello’s FV rating should be ‘3’ not ‘2°.

*  Port Louis is given a RP rating (of ‘1°). It should have a ‘0’ rating, being a Minor Port with only a Quarterly RP
capacity.

*  Clarification: Cartagena de Indias is indeed Cartagena.

13)In the Repair Table notes, Port Louis should be Fort Royal. The statement that each French Port has a Quarterly RP
capacity while France is neutral is incorrect. Per Ex. Rule 2.26 last bullet, only ONE (1) Quarterly Repair die roll is
allowed, period. The location may change, however, so in this sense all French Ports have the capability, just not
simultaneously.

Scenario, Orders, & OOB Errata
1) There is a reference in the Spanish OOB to a Fireship Auxiliary. Ignore this.
2) For the British 1741 OOB at Port Royal (Jamaica), there should be ‘3x Light Auxiliaries’, not 4x.
3) The British Orders Instructions have a number of errors:
*  Aquin & Saquamel do not exist and Port Louis should be substituted (same general area of the map).

e The Cruise Leewards Order incorrectly lists Port Louis (in Hispaniola) for Fort Louis (in Grenada). If an Order
deals with the Leewards, Fort Louis (Grenada) is always intended.

*  Any references to St. Georges should be read as Fort Louis (Grenada). St. George s became the primary port for
Grenada, but only after the British gained domination over the island. At this time the French were in control.
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4)

5)

6)

7)

8)

e The British Trade Convoy Chart refers to ‘Space #9° in the Yucatan Channel (DR result of ‘8). This should be
‘Spaces #13 and 58’, as in the final entry of the chart.

*  The Order Availability Chart lists 4x RVO and 4x Escort OCs. It should list 3x and 6x, respectively.
The Bourbon Orders Instructions have a number of errors:
*  Reference is made to Corsica (SA Orders). This is a legacy clause that should be ignored.

*  Under the Support Army Order instructions, clause (c) should read identically to the British book. That is, Fulfilled
SA Orders generate MC DRMs in their Turn of Fulfillment. Clause (d) similarly should match the British book,
stating that the Order is Terminated without penalty if the MC is Terminated for any reason.

*  The Cruise Leewards Order incorrectly lists Port Louis (in Hispaniola) for Fort Louis (in Grenada). If an Order
deals with the Leewards, Fort Louis (Grenada) is always intended. Note that the Cruise Windwards Order correctly
lists Port Louis but the estimated time is closer to 10 Impulses, not 4.

*  Under the Local Convoy Assembly Table, French section, DR 0-4, the route incorrectly adds Fort Louis midway
along the route despite it being the Assembly point. Ignore the reference; the Convoy does not have to backtrack.

*  The Order Availability Chart lists 4x RVO and 6x Escort OCs. It should list 2x and 5x, respectively.

*  The Order Availability Chart by error lists two British Interdiction Orders — Windwards and Port Louis. The Section
on Interdiction fails to mention the Roatdn Interdiction Order.

The British Blockade Orders against Fort Royal (Martinique) and Fort Louis (Grenada) are missing from the Order
Auvailability Chart, although listed under the Interdiction Orders section. The Orders Chits for these two Orders were also
incorrectly labelled or missing (see below). Both these Orders are assigned to the Leewards Station (L). They are only
available if France has Declared War Against Britain.

The start point for the Outbound America and British Home Convoys is Port Royal, Jamaica. St. Kitts could be
considered a departure point for the America Convoy and English Harbour for the British Convoy; the players may agree
on this as an option, retaining Port Royal as well. (Historically, the Leewards were an impossible departure point for
ships that were already to the west of them, but not all the Trade passed to Jamaica.)

By FI 11.122 Reinforcements are only checked for in Spring and Summer Quarterly Turns. The RRT states they can be
checked for in any Quarter. This is incorrect. Y.JJ uses the default rule.

The Spanish Convoy Table is missing. Page 9 of the Bourbon Scenario book was accidentally duplicated from page 8 in
the original edition.

Counter Errata

1) Commodore Peter Warren is given a promotion date for 1742 on his counter but does start the game on the map, as a
Commodore. The date is historical but for game purposes it should be ’39 as he is the only Leader of any ability on the
East Coast.

2) The counter mix lacked one each of the French and Spanish Local Convoys — there should be two per Contingent. While
the French are Neutral their Local Convoy can function as Spanish.

3) The Order Chit for Blockading Fort Louis (Grenada) is incorrectly labelled for the Jamaica Station (J); it should be for
the Leewards (L). The Blockade Order Chit for Fort Royal (Martinique) is missing. Use the generic Interdiction OCs. It
is also a Leewards Order.

4) Regarding the generic OCs, they were intended for a rule that was edited out and should be ignored.

5) Do not use the Tonnante (80) Flagship counter. This ship did not appear in the Caribbean.

Map Errata

1) Clarification: the Mona Passage is not a Strait.

2) Clarification: a Wind Starting Location notation of 'G(a)' means the Gale a/ways starts there.

3) The Vendavales Gale Start locations should be G(0-4) at #66 and G(5-9) at the Large Space west of Chagres.

4) The Chubasco Gale Start location G(5-9) should be at #62 Space.

5) In the Port Values boxes: a reference to Christophe Harbour is to English Harbour, similarly, Fort de France is Fort

Royal; St Martin and St Maartin are the same place.
6) In the Tortuga CZ box, Port de Paix means Cap Francois; in the San Agustin CZ box the reference to St Maartin should

be to San Agustin (Port).



7) Within the Carolinas Sea Zone the reference to #21 should be to #29.
8) On the CZ Reference Chart, Potential target values for Torfola and Tortuga are reversed.

9) Lanes for the Nor easter Seasonal Wind now cover all Spaces between the northern map edge (#23) and Space #29 (in
line with the Bahamas CZ Box). The Cape Hatteras and Carolinas SZs are affected by the SW entering their North and
West edges. This SW travels SOUTH, not NORTH. However, its Gales start at the SOUTH end and move NORTH. Space
#29 is its Gale’s automatic starting location. (The wind is cyclonic and actually blows into the northeast on a similar path
to the hurricanes, well out into the Atlantic, the SW lane thus represents the inshore cyclonic action of the wind as the
system rotates counterclockwise.)

Display Errata
1) The Fleet Displays omitted the second Home Convoys for the British and French.

2) The Bourbon Fleet Displays omitted the Ports of San Juan, Veracruz, San Agustin, and Santiago de Cuba. Fort Royal was
incorrectly named Port Louis.

3) The corrected displays have been reduced from 10 sheets to 5, using an 11x17 format.



